Our History

The Strawberry Hill Ethnic Cultural Society was formed in 1988 to promote, sponsor and preserve the ethnic heritage prevalent in Kansas City, Kansas. The Strawberry Hill Museum and Cultural Center celebrates the many nationalities of Kansas City residents. Built in 1887, the the core building is an outstanding example of Victorian Queen Anne Style architecture and was home to the Cruise-Scroggs family for 32 years. In 1919, the mansion was opened by the Sisters of St. Francis of Christ the King, to care for children orphaned during the 1918 influenza pandemic. The orphanage, operated in connection with St. John the Baptist Catholic Church, closed in 1988 for conversion to the Strawberry Hill Ethnic Cultural Society. 

Featured Immigrant Nationalities

Next Event

May 17 @ 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm

KC Optimist Chocolate, Wine & Brew

Hosted by the Downtown KC Optimist with proceeds benefiting our Tri-Star Sports and Youth Safety Programs! Shopping 20 unique vendors at the Strawberry Hill Museum Tomasic Hall. Complimentary food and beverage Door Prizes Live Auction – 8pm FREE ADMISSION: To The Chocolate, Wine & Brew! (Museum tours separate) Tours to the Museum – $10 per …Continue Reading…

Coming Events

Featured Exhibit

Father Tim Haberkorn Exhibit

The Strawberry Hill Museum is proud to exhibit the unique collection of Fr. Tim Haberkorn of Sacred Heart Parish and St. Joseph Parish in Topeka, Kansas. Fr. Tim, called “The Relic Hunter” has generously donated his rare and valuable relics to the museum. 

Since his childhood, Fr. Tim has been collecting holy cards, next came statues and when he was in the seminary, he started his collection of relics of the saints. Relics connect us to those who have gone before us in faith-especially those of the martyrs. Fr. Tim has made pilgrimages to many saints’ tombs and one of his favorite relics would be that of St. Maximilian Kolbe, especially after he visited Auschwitz. 

These relics will be part of Fr. Tim’s exhibit at the Museum starting March 3rd, 2017. Over 240 relics are in his collection. The museum is open Saturday and Sunday, noon until the last tour at 4:15.

© All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy

Site Created by KC Web Specialists, LLC